

Planning Commission Staff Report

Meeting Date: September 1, 2020 Agenda Item: 9A

Subject: Review and confirm the order of alternates to the RPC

Summary: Discussion and possible action to confirm the order of alternates

to represent the Washoe County Planning Commission on the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission; and to direct the Planning Commission Secretary to transmit the list of confirmed alternates to the Washoe County Board of County Commissioners and to the Executive Director of the Truckee

Meadows Regional Planning Agency.

Recommendation: Review and confirm the order of Planning Commission

alternates to the Regional Planning Commission and direct the Planning Commission Secretary to transmit the confirmed list of alternates to the Washoe County Board of County Commissioners and to the Truckee Meadows Regional

Planning Agency's Executive Director.

Prepared by: Trevor Lloyd, Planning Manager

Washoe County Community Services Department

Planning and Building Division

775.328.3617, tlloyd@washocounty.us

Description

For possible action and discussion to review and determine and/or confirm the order of alternates selected to represent the Washoe County Planning Commission (PC) on the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission (RPC) in the event the regularly appointed PC members are unavailable to serve. The currently proposed order is as follows: First Alternate, Thomas Bruce; Second Alternate, Kate Nelson; Third Alternate, Larry Peyton; and Fourth Alternate, Pat Phillips. If confirmed and/or determined, to direct the Planning Commission Secretary to transmit the list of confirmed alternates to the Washoe County Board of Commissioners (Board) and to the Executive Director of the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Agency (TMRPA).

Staff Report Contents

Description	Page 1
Alternates to the Regional Planning Commission	Page 2
Background	Page 2
Recommendation	Page 3
Motion	Page 4

Alternates to the Regional Planning Commission

Nevada Revised Statutes requires the Board to appoint three members of the PC to serve as members on the RPC. The Board allows the PC to select the remaining Commissioners not specifically appointed to the RPC to serve as alternates to the appointed PC members on the RPC. Alternates' terms are effective upon the date of most recent appointment of a new RPC member by the BCC.

If an appointed PC member on the RPC is unable to attend a scheduled meeting, the Commissioner will contact the Planning and Building Division Director or the PC Secretary as soon as possible. The Director or the Secretary will then contact the first alternate to serve in the absent Commissioner's stead. If the first alternate is unable to attend, then the second alternate will be contacted and so forth until an alternate is available to attend the meeting.

Background

On June 23, 2020, the Board appointed Pat Phillips (representing At-Large South of the River) to the PC for a full term beginning on July 1, 2020, and ending June 30, 2024.

On May 12, 2020, the Board reappointed Francine Donshick (representing At-Large Commission District 3) to the PC for a second full term beginning on July 1, 2020, and ending June 30, 2024. Commissioner Donshick is currently serving a partial term on the RPC.

On April 14, 2020, the Board appointed Larry Peyton (representing Commission District 1) to the PC to fill an unexpired term beginning on June 1, 2020, and ending June 30, 2022.

On June 25, 2019, the Board appointed Kate Nelson (representing Commission District 2) to the PC for a full term beginning on July 1, 2019, and ending June 30, 2023.

On May 28, 2019, the Board reappointed Sarah Chvilicek (representing Commission District 5) to the PC for a second full term beginning on July 1, 2019, and ending June 30, 2023. Commissioner Chvilicek is currently serving a term on the RPC.

On May 22, 2018, the Board reappointed Larry Chesney (representing At Large – North of the River) to the PC for a second full term beginning on July 1, 2018, and ending June 30, 2022. Commissioner Chesney is currently serving a term on the RPC.

On June 13, 2017, the Board appointed Thomas Bruce (representing Commission District 4) to the PC for a full term beginning on July 1, 2017, and ending June 30, 2021.

The currently appointed PC members on the RPC are as follows:

Name	Term
Francine Donshick	July 2020 – June 2021
Larry Chesney	July 2019 – June 2022
Sarah Chvilicek	July 2020 – June 2023

On August 6, 2019, the PC confirmed the following list of alternates to the RPC:

First alternate: Francine Donshick
Second alternate: Thomas Bruce
Kate Nelson
Fourth alternate: Philip Horan

Rule G(2)(a)(i) from the PC's adopted *Rules, Policies and Procedures* provides that alternates move up in succession to fill the gap created by an RPC appointment.

Rule G(2)(a)(i)

When vacancies on the Regional Planning Commission are filled by the Washoe County Commission, unless otherwise decided by the Planning Commission, previously selected alternates will move up in succession to fill the gap created by the appointment of a Commissioner to the Regional Planning Commission. For example, if the first alternate is appointed to the Regional Planning Commission, then the second alternate moves into the first alternate position, the third alternate into the second alternate position, the fourth alternate into the third alternate position, and the fourth alternate position will be filled by remaining Commissioner.

At their September 3, 2013 meeting, the PC provided direction that gaps in the list of alternates created by the departure of a member from the PC would be filled in one of two methods:

- 1. PC members will move up in the order of succession to fill the gap; and/or
- 2. Newly appointed PC members will move into the order, starting at the lowest alternate (e.g., move into the fourth alternate position).

Based on the PC's adopted rule, and the direction provided by the PC in September of 2013, the suggested list of RPC alternates is:

First alternate: Thomas Bruce
Second alternate: Kate Nelson
Third alternate: Larry Peyton
Fourth alternate: Pat Phillips

Staff recommends that the PC review the list of alternates and either confirm the order or provide staff with the PC preferred order of alternates. Rule G(2)(a)(iii) from the PC's adopted Rules, Policies and Procedures requires the PC Secretary to transmit the list of alternates to the Board and to the TMRPA Executive Director. The PC Secretary will transmit the list after its confirmation by the PC.

Rule G(2)(a)(iii)

The Secretary to the Planning Commission, or his/her designee, shall transmit the names of the County Commission appointed members and alternates to the Executive Director of the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Agency. The Secretary, or his/her designee, shall also inform the County Commission of the names of all alternates.

Recommendation

Staff recommends the Planning Commission review the list of alternates to the RPC as shown below, and either confirm the order or provide staff with the preferred order of alternates.

RPC alternates:

First alternate: Thomas Bruce
Second alternate: Kate Nelson
Third alternate: Larry Peyton
Fourth alternate: Pat Phillips

Staff further recommends that the Planning Commission direct the PC Secretary to transmit the confirmed list of RPC alternates to the Board and to the TMRPA Executive Director. The following motion is provided for your consideration:

Motion

I move to confirm the order of alternates to the Regional Planning Commission as follows (*list the first, second, third and fourth alternate names*). I further move to direct the Planning Commission Secretary to transmit the confirmed list of alternates to the Washoe County Board of Commissioners and to the Executive Director of the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Agency.

Staff Report Date: July 27, 2020

cc: Jeremy Smith, Interim Executive Director, TMRPA